Tee & Tempo

The Best Golf Launch Monitors for Beginners

The room decides this purchase, not the device — every radar unit here needs about fourteen feet in one direction. Five monitors worth buying, and what each one's numbers really cost.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

A launch monitor is the first piece of golf equipment that tells you the truth. The club does not lie about your swing speed, the ball does not flatter your strike, and a number on a screen settles arguments that a playing partner never will. That is the appeal, and it is real.

It is also the purchase most likely to end up in a cupboard, for a reason that has nothing to do with the device: the room is wrong. Radar units measure from behind the ball, and the makers publish how far behind. Garmin’s manual asks for six to eight feet behind the tee plus at least eight feet to the net indoors. Rapsodo asks for “a little more than 14 total feet.” Most garages are wide and short, which is the wrong shape.

If you want one answer: the Garmin Approach R10 is the safe default, because it publishes the widest set of real metrics for mid-range money and it tells you in writing what space it needs. If you mainly want speed numbers at the range, the PRGR HS-130A does that for a fraction of the price with no phone and no account. And if you want to see the strike rather than read about it, the Rapsodo MLM2PROis the one — provided you have read the membership pricing below first.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on forgiveness, how complete the pick is, and value for a beginner. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not hit these clubs on a launch monitor — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Garmin Approach R10 Portable Launch Monitor

Garmin Approach R10 Portable Launch Monitor

The safe default if you are buying one at all. Radar, a long battery, more than a dozen club and ball metrics, and — unusually — a manufacturer that publishes exactly how much floor space the thing needs. Two honest caveats: it does nothing without your phone, and the simulated golf most people buy it for is a paid membership on top.

Best overall
$489.50 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
PRGR HS-130A Portable Launch Monitor

PRGR HS-130A Portable Launch Monitor

The honest entry point. It reads the two speeds that actually matter to a beginner, works them into a smash factor, and estimates the distance. No phone, no app, no account and no subscription -- four AAA batteries and a number after every swing.

Best budget
$199.99 · View on Amazon

$229.9913% off

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC200 Plus

Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC200 Plus

The range unit. It sits beside the mat, reads your carry distance out loud, changes club from a remote in your pocket, and runs on AAA batteries for what Voice Caddie publishes as up to 20 hours. Nothing to pair, nothing to charge, nothing to subscribe to.

Best for the driving range
$229.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Rapsodo MLM2PRO Mobile Launch Monitor

Rapsodo MLM2PRO Mobile Launch Monitor

The one that shows you the shot rather than only the numbers. Two cameras and a doppler radar, and video of the strike itself, which is the feedback a beginner can genuinely use. The catch is the membership: spin, video analysis and course play are Premium features once the 45-day trial runs out.

Best for seeing your swing
$599.98 · View on Amazon

$699.9914% off

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 PRO

Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 PRO

The no-phone answer at the top end. A 5.3-inch screen, voice output, eight parameters including spin rate, and a free app with five simulation courses if you do decide to plug a phone in. It costs premium money, which is exactly why most first-season golfers should buy something cheaper.

Best without a phone
$599.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Garmin Approach R10 Portable Launch Monitor

The safe default if you are buying one at all. Radar, a long battery, more than a dozen club and ball metrics, and — unusually — a manufacturer that publishes exactly how much floor space the thing needs. Two honest caveats: it does nothing without your phone, and the simulated golf most people buy it for is a paid membership on top.

Strengths

  • More than a dozen club and ball metrics in real time, including club head speed, ball speed, spin and launch angle
  • Garmin publishes up to 10 hours of battery life, which covers a long range session or a whole winter evening indoors
  • The owner's manual states the placement distances in feet, so you can check your room before you spend anything

Trade-offs

  • Does nothing on its own -- Garmin states the R10 requires a paired smartphone running the Garmin Golf app
  • Home Tee Hero, the simulated-course mode most buyers want, needs an active Garmin Golf membership, which Garmin publishes at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year
  • Needs 6 to 8 ft of clear floor behind the ball plus at least 8 ft to the net indoors -- about 14 ft in one direction, which many garages do not have
What it isRadar launch monitor, up to 10 hours of battery, works through the Garmin Golf phone app
In the boxNot published
HandednessNot published
Shaft / flexNot published
Best forGolfers who already practice at home and want numbers, Anyone who wants the widest metric set for the money

Beginner note. Garmin's owner's manual is unusually specific about space, and it is the spec that decides whether a home setup works at all: place the launch monitor 6 to 8 ft (1.8 to 2.4 m) behind the tee location, keep the tee at least 8 ft (2.4 m) from the net indoors, and expect it to read shots inside a 2 x 2 ft hitting area starting 6 ft from the device. Measure the room before you order.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state it.

#2Best budget

PRGR HS-130A Portable Launch Monitor

The honest entry point. It reads the two speeds that actually matter to a beginner, works them into a smash factor, and estimates the distance. No phone, no app, no account and no subscription -- four AAA batteries and a number after every swing.

Strengths

  • No phone, no app and no subscription -- the numbers appear on the device itself
  • Runs on four AAA alkaline batteries per PRGR's own manual, so there is nothing to charge before a range trip
  • Gives a beginner the three numbers that mean something early on: club head speed, ball speed and the smash factor between them

Trade-offs

  • Distance is an estimate, not a measurement -- PRGR's manual describes it as an estimated flight distance
  • No spin, no launch angle and no launch direction, so it cannot explain why the ball curved
  • Nothing syncs anywhere: the maker publishes no companion app, so tracking progress over weeks means writing numbers down
What it isPocket doppler radar: club head speed, ball speed, smash factor and an estimated carry or total distance
In the boxNot published
HandednessNot published
Shaft / flexNot published
Best forA first launch monitor, Range trips where involving a phone is a nuisance

Beginner note. PRGR's own manual is candid about what this is: in golf mode it shows club head speed, ball speed, smash factor and an ESTIMATED flight distance, switchable between carry and total. It is a speed meter with a distance estimate attached rather than a full ball-flight monitor, and that distinction is most of what separates a two-hundred-dollar unit from a five-hundred-dollar one.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state it.

#3Best for the driving range

Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC200 Plus

The range unit. It sits beside the mat, reads your carry distance out loud, changes club from a remote in your pocket, and runs on AAA batteries for what Voice Caddie publishes as up to 20 hours. Nothing to pair, nothing to charge, nothing to subscribe to.

Strengths

  • Voice output calls the distance back to you, so you never look up from the shot
  • The remote switches club without walking back to the device -- the small thing that decides whether you keep using it
  • Voice Caddie publishes up to 20 hours on four AAA batteries, which is several range sessions from one set

Trade-offs

  • Four metrics only -- carry distance, swing speed, ball speed and smash factor, per Voice Caddie's own page
  • The published box contents are a device, a remote and a manual: no app, so there is no shot history to look back at
  • Doppler radar still needs clear space behind the ball, which matters if you were planning to use it indoors
What it isDoppler radar with a screen, voice output and a remote, powered by four AAA batteries
In the boxLaunch monitor, remote and user manual
HandednessNot published
Shaft / flexNot published
Best forDriving range regulars, Golfers who would rather not involve a phone

Beginner note. Voice Caddie publishes four AAA alkaline batteries and up to 20 hours of use, a 3 x 5.9 x 0.98 in body at 206 g, and a practice swing mode that reads swing speed with no ball involved. That last mode is what makes it usable in a room too small to hit a real shot in.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state it.

#4Best for seeing your swing

Rapsodo MLM2PRO Mobile Launch Monitor

The one that shows you the shot rather than only the numbers. Two cameras and a doppler radar, and video of the strike itself, which is the feedback a beginner can genuinely use. The catch is the membership: spin, video analysis and course play are Premium features once the 45-day trial runs out.

Strengths

  • Impact Vision video means you see the strike, not just a table of numbers
  • Rapsodo publishes eight measured parameters -- ball speed, club speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin rate, spin axis, club path and angle of attack
  • Ships with a tripod and three RPT-marked balls, so there is nothing else to buy on day one

Trade-offs

  • Spin, video analysis and course play sit behind the Premium membership once the included 45-day trial ends -- Rapsodo publishes $199.99 a year, $329.99 for two years or $599.99 for lifetime
  • Spin numbers require the RPT-marked balls, so it will not read spin on the ball you normally play
  • Rapsodo publishes a space requirement of a little over 14 total feet: 8 ft from ball to net, plus 6.5 to 8.5 ft behind the ball
What it isDual camera plus doppler radar, 8 measured and 7 calculated parameters, runs through a phone or tablet
In the boxLaunch monitor, tripod, charging cable, a three-ball sleeve of RPT-marked balls and a 45-day Premium trial
HandednessNot published
Shaft / flexNot published
Best forHome practice with a net and a mat already in place, Golfers who learn from video rather than numbers

Beginner note. Rapsodo separates measured from calculated on its own product page: eight parameters are measured, and smash factor, carry, total distance, apex, descent angle, side carry and shot type are worked out from them. Reading that distinction is the single most useful skill when you compare launch monitors, because every maker counts its metrics differently.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state it.

#5Best without a phone

Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 PRO

The no-phone answer at the top end. A 5.3-inch screen, voice output, eight parameters including spin rate, and a free app with five simulation courses if you do decide to plug a phone in. It costs premium money, which is exactly why most first-season golfers should buy something cheaper.

Strengths

  • Voice Caddie states it works outdoors as a standalone unit, with no smartphone required
  • Eight parameters including spin rate and launch direction, read off a 5.3-inch screen
  • The VOICECADDIE S app is free and the bundled E6 package includes five courses and a driving range -- no subscription attached

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive unit on this page, and a first-season golfer's money goes further on lessons, a net and a mat
  • Voice Caddie states the monitor is not designed to assess non-standard golf balls, which rules out foam balls and most range balls
  • No video of the strike, where camera-and-radar units at the same money give you one
What it isStandalone launch monitor with a 5.3-inch screen, 8 data parameters and a free simulator app
In the boxLaunch monitor, remote, USB cable and user manual (the listing linked here bundles a towel with it)
HandednessNot published
Shaft / flexNot published
Best forGolfers who want numbers without a phone, Home setups where a screen beats an app

Beginner note. Voice Caddie publishes carry and total distance, swing speed, ball speed, smash factor, apex, launch angle, launch direction and spin rate, a 10-hour battery in golf mode and a 6-hour charge from empty. The line that matters most to a buyer is the ball one: it is not designed to assess non-standard golf balls, so the foam balls a lot of people practice with indoors will not read properly.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state it.

How we picked these launch monitors

We do not own a test lab, we have not hit balls in front of these units, and we will never publish a carry number we did not measure — our methodology pagesets out exactly what we do and do not do. What we compared is what each manufacturer publishes about its own device, read live from the maker’s product page, manual or press release and cited at the foot of this page, against what a first- or second-season golfer can actually use. Every ASIN here was checked as a live, in-stock listing on the day this page was written.

1. Whether your room fits it, before anything else

This is the criterion that eliminates devices, so it goes first. A radar launch monitor sits behind the ball and watches the ball and clubhead move away from it, so it needs clear floor in that direction. Garmin publishes the exact figures for the R10: place it between 6 and 8 ft behind the tee location, keep the tee at least 8 ft from the net indoors, and expect it to read shots inside a 2 x 2 ft hitting area that starts 6 ft from the device. Rapsodo publishes much the same total for the MLM2PRO — 8 ft from ball to net, plus another 6.5 to 8.5 ft behind the ball.

Add it up and a home radar setup wants roughly fourteen to sixteen feet of clear length, plus ceiling height for a full swing. A standard single garage is often about nine or ten feet across and twenty feet deep, which works only if you hit down the length of it. Measure the space with a tape before you spend anything, and if it does not fit, the device that suits you is the one you carry to the driving range instead.

2. Measured or estimated

Every launch monitor lists a pile of metrics, and makers count them differently. The distinction that matters is which numbers the device measures and which it calculates from the ones it measured. Rapsodo publishes this split on its own product page: eight parameters are measured — ball speed, club speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin rate, spin axis, club path and angle of attack — and smash factor, carry, total distance, apex, descent angle, side carry and shot type are worked out from them.

At the budget end the split is starker and more honest than people expect. PRGR’s manual states that its unit displays club head speed, ball speed, smash factor and an estimated flight distance, derived from accumulated swing data rather than measured. That is not a criticism, it is a specification: a pocket doppler meter is a speed meter with a distance estimate attached, and at that price it is a fair trade. It does mean a beginner who wants to know why the ball curved will not find the answer on its screen, because it does not read spin or launch direction.

3. What the numbers cost after you have bought the device

Two of the five units here have an ongoing cost, and both are easy to miss at checkout. The Rapsodo MLM2PRO ships with a 45-day Premium trial; after that, Rapsodo publishes Premium at $199.99 a year, $329.99 for two years or $599.99 for lifetime, and states that advanced features including full-course access and club data need the membership. The Garmin R10 works without a subscription for practice and metrics, but Home Tee Hero — the simulated-course mode most people picture when they imagine a home setup — requires an active Garmin Golf membership, published by Garmin at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year.

The two Voice Caddie units and the PRGR have no subscription at all. Voice Caddie states that the VOICECADDIE S app is free to use and that the SC4 PRO’s bundled E6 package includes five courses plus a driving range. If you are comparing a $600 unit with a $200 one, run the numbers over three years rather than over the sticker price, because that is where the real gap sits.

4. Whether it needs your phone

Garmin is explicit that the R10 requires a paired compatible smartphone running the Garmin Golf app, and the Rapsodo is a phone-driven device by design. The PRGR and the two Swing Caddie units show their numbers on the device itself — Voice Caddie states outright that the SC4 PRO can be used as a standalone unit outdoors with no smartphone required.

Neither approach is better in the abstract. A phone gives you a shot history, a bigger display and video. A screen on the device gives you something that works in cold rain at a range bay with gloves on, and nothing to forget to charge. Decide which of those two descriptions sounds more like your golf.

5. Which numbers a beginner can actually act on

Three of them, in our view. Club head speedtells you which shaft flex you should be ordering, which is the most common self-inflicted equipment mistake in golf — our guide to regular versus stiff shafts explains how to read it. Ball speed plus club head speed give you smash factor, which is the cleanest single measure of strike quality there is: it improves when you find the middle of the face and it does not care how far the ball went. And carry distance, averaged over a dozen shots rather than taken from your best one, is what fills in the yardages you will play by.

Spin axis, angle of attack and club path are genuinely useful numbers, and they are useful to a coach. Knowing your club path is four degrees out-to-in is not actionable on its own, which is exactly why we left launch monitors off our training aids roundup and why this page opens the way it does.

Measure your room before you order

Three checks with a tape measure, all of which cost nothing and any of which can save you six hundred dollars.

Length. Stand where the ball will sit. You need clear floor roughly six to eight feet behind you for the device, and at least eight feet in front of you to the net. If your space gives you one of those but not both, a radar unit at home will frustrate you.

Height.Make a slow full backswing with your longest club where you intend to hit. If the clubhead touches a ceiling, a beam, a light or a garage door track, that club is not usable in that room whatever monitor you buy. Garmin’s manual makes the same point about net height for high-lofted and errant shots. Plenty of indoor setups are wedge-and-iron only, which is still worthwhile practice.

What the ball hits. A launch monitor does not stop a golf ball. If you do not already have a net, that is the purchase that unlocks home practice, and our golf practice nets roundup covers the sizing, along with the hitting mat that decides what your strike learns.

What a launch monitor will and will not do for your golf

What it does, and no cheaper tool does, is close the feedback loop on home practice. Hitting into a net tells you nothing about the shot — the ball travels two yards and every swing feels roughly the same. A monitor turns that same net session into something measurable, which is the difference between hitting balls and practicing.

It is also the only way to know your real carry distances rather than your best-ever ones. Most amateurs overclub by a full club because they remember the one seven-iron that flew 160 yards and forget the eleven that went 140. Averaged numbers fix that in a single session.

What it will not do is tell you what to change. A monitor reports outcomes; it does not diagnose causes, and a beginner reading spin axis without a coach usually ends up chasing numbers rather than building a swing. If your ball is curving badly, the fix lives in our guides to fixing a slice and swing basics, not in a more expensive device. It also cannot show you a real ball flight indoors — even the units that draw a simulated trajectory are inferring it from the first few feet of travel.

Who should not buy one yet

Three cases, and they cover most people reading this page.

You do not have a net and a mat. Buy those first, in that order. A launch monitor with nowhere safe to hit is an ornament, and a net plus a mat costs less than the cheapest monitor here while doing more for your golf.

You have never had a lesson. An hour with a coach will change your strike more than a season of numbers will, and most coaches have a monitor far better than anything on this page. Our guide to whether golf lessons are worth it makes the case honestly, including when they are not.

Your scores are being lost inside a hundred yards. For nearly every beginner they are. A launch monitor measures full swings; it does nothing for chipping and putting, which is where the strokes actually go. A putting mat costs a tenth of the price and will take more shots off your card this season.

The bottom line

Measure the room first, then decide whether you want measured numbers or estimated ones, then check what the subscription costs before you check what the device costs. Do those three things in that order and any of the five units here is a defensible purchase. Skip them and the most likely outcome is an expensive box that proves you swing a seven-iron at the same speed you did last month — which is true, useful once, and not worth six hundred dollars.

Frequently asked questions

How much space do you need for a golf launch monitor?

More than most people expect, and in the one direction garages are usually short. Garmin's Approach R10 manual asks for the device to sit 6 to 8 ft behind the tee location and for the tee to be at least 8 ft from the net indoors. Rapsodo publishes 'a little more than 14 total feet' for the MLM2PRO — 8 ft from ball to net plus 6.5 to 8.5 ft behind the ball. Measure the length of your space with a tape before you buy anything, and add enough ceiling height for a full backswing.

Are cheap golf launch monitors accurate?

It depends which number you mean. Pocket doppler units read club head speed and ball speed directly, and smash factor is simple arithmetic between them, so those are trustworthy. The distance is where the honesty lives: PRGR's own manual describes its flight distance as an estimate derived from accumulated swing data, not a measurement. That is fine for comparing today's session with last week's, and not fine for setting the yardages you will play by.

Do golf launch monitors need a subscription?

Some of the headline features do. Rapsodo includes a 45-day Premium trial with the MLM2PRO and publishes Premium at $199.99 a year, $329.99 for two years or $599.99 lifetime, with full-course access and advanced data behind it. Garmin's R10 gives you practice metrics with no subscription, but Home Tee Hero simulated course play needs an active Garmin Golf membership, published at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year. The PRGR and both Swing Caddie units have no subscription at all.

Which launch monitor numbers should a beginner care about?

Club head speed, smash factor and average carry distance. Club head speed tells you what shaft flex to order. Smash factor — ball speed divided by club speed — is the cleanest measure of how well you are striking the ball, and it improves as you find the middle of the face. Average carry, taken over a dozen shots rather than your best one, gives you real yardages. Spin axis, club path and angle of attack are useful to a coach and largely noise on your own.

Do I need special golf balls for a launch monitor?

For spin numbers on the Rapsodo MLM2PRO, yes: Rapsodo states that balls with its RPT marking are required for spin readings, and three come in the box. Everything else on this page reads a normal golf ball. Voice Caddie does note that its monitor is not designed to assess non-standard golf balls, so the foam and plastic practice balls many people use indoors will not read reliably on any of them.

Sources

  • Garmin -- Approach R10 Owner's Manual: Preparing for a ShotThe maker's published setup requirements: place the launch monitor on the ground between 6 ft and 8 ft (1.8 m and 2.4 m) behind the tee location; the tee location must be at least 8 ft (2.4 m) away from the net when playing indoors; the red alignment line must be aligned with the tee location and the target of the shot; shots are measured within a 2 x 2 ft (0.6 x 0.6 m) hitting area beginning 6 ft (1.8 m) from the launch monitor; ceiling height and net height must allow for high-lofted or errant shots (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Garmin -- Tee up from home or the driving range with Garmin's Approach R10 portable golf launch monitor (press release)Garmin's own announcement: the R10 shows more than a dozen key metrics in real time including club head speed, ball speed, swing tempo, ball spin and launch angle; up to 10 hours of battery life; 'The Approach R10 requires a paired compatible smartphone downloaded with the Garmin Golf app'; simulated play on tens of thousands of courses through Home Tee Hero (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Garmin -- Garmin elevates the golf simulator experience with Home Tee Hero upgrades (press release)States that Home Tee Hero requires an active Garmin Golf membership, that it carries more than 43,000 preloaded golf courses, and that some Garmin launch monitors -- the Approach R10 among them -- require pairing with a compatible smartphone, where the Approach R50 does not (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Garmin -- Green Contour data comes to the Garmin Golf app (press release)Garmin's published membership pricing: 'Golfers can purchase a Garmin Golf membership for $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year', together with the note that Garmin Golf members who buy an Approach R10 receive the Home Tee Hero golf simulator with that membership (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Rapsodo -- MLM2PRO Mobile Launch Monitor + Golf Simulator (product page)The maker separates eight MEASURED parameters (ball speed, launch direction, club speed, launch angle, spin rate, spin axis, club path, angle of attack) from the calculated ones (smash factor, carry distance, total distance, descent angle, side carry, apex, shot type); listed as Apple and Android compatible, so a phone or tablet is required; the box holds the device, a tripod, a charging cable and a three-ball sleeve of RPT-marked balls, with a 45-day Premium trial included; 'Golf balls with RPT are required to show spin numbers'; indoor space: 'A little more than 14 total feet is needed. First, 8 feet is needed from ball to the net. Then, the MLM2PRO requires another 6.5-8.5 feet behind the ball' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Rapsodo -- MLM2PRO Premium MembershipPublished membership pricing and contents: $199.99 billed every year, $329.99 billed every two years, or $599.99 as a one-time lifetime payment, after a 45-day trial that auto-renews into a year; Premium covers 30,000+ courses, cloud session storage, advanced data and analytics, Impact Vision video analysis and the measured spin rate and spin axis metrics, and Rapsodo states that advanced features including club data and full-course access require the membership (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Voice Caddie -- Swing Caddie SC4 PRO (product page)The maker's spec: carry and total distance, swing speed, ball speed, smash factor, apex, launch angle, launch direction and spin rate; 4.88 x 7.59 x 1.14 in at 20.79 oz; '10 hours (depending on conditions)' of battery with a 6-hour charge from empty; 'For outdoor use, the SC4 Pro can be used as a standalone unit (no smartphone required)'; the VOICECADDIE S app is free to use and the bundled E6 package includes five courses plus a driving range; box contents are the launch monitor, remote, USB cable and user manual; 'The launch monitor is not designed to assess non-standard golf balls' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Voice Caddie -- Swing Caddie SC200 Plus (product page)The maker's spec: doppler radar reporting carry distance, swing speed, ball speed and smash factor, with atmospheric pressure, humidity and altitude taken into account; voice output of distance; a remote that changes club without touching the device; a practice swing mode that reads swing speed with no ball; four AAA batteries for up to 20 hours depending on conditions; 3 x 5.9 x 0.98 in at 206 g; box contents listed as the device, the remote and the user manual (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • PRGR -- HS-130A Portable Launch Monitor User's ManualThe manufacturer's manual (PRGR CO., LTD., Tokyo), hosted by ManualsLib: in golf mode the device displays club head speed, ball speed, smash factor and an ESTIMATED flight distance which can be switched between carry and total; it runs on commercially sold AAA alkaline batteries; the estimated distance is described as derived from large amounts of accumulated swing data rather than measured, and the manual warns that measurement may not be possible depending on the materials of surrounding objects or their distance (accessed September 15, 2026)

Keep reading